APPLE MOTION: Motion Forum Motion Tutorials FCP Legacy FCP Tutorials

I only want to see the reflection, not the surface it's reflecting on

COW Forums : Apple Motion

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Gareth Randall
I only want to see the reflection, not the surface it's reflecting on
on Jan 14, 2015 at 3:17:32 pm

I have some text over a background, and I want that text to have a blurry reflection. Easy enough to do by creating a "floor" for the text to reflect onto, but I only want to see the reflection, I don't want to see the floor itself.

Is there any way of doing this using the built-in reflections parameters, or do I just have to duplicate the text, flip it and blur it?

Return to posts index

Simon Ubsdell
Re: I only want to see the reflection, not the surface it's reflecting on
on Jan 14, 2015 at 9:42:52 pm
Last Edited By Simon Ubsdell on Jan 14, 2015 at 9:50:58 pm

Just make your floor black.

If you need to kill the alpha channel of the floor (so that the reflection sits on a different background), set its Blending to Preserve Opacity.

Here's that in action:

http://tokyo-uk.com/Motion/ReflectionOnly.zip

Simon Ubsdell
tokyo-uk.com

Return to posts index

Gareth Randall
on Jan 15, 2015 at 6:52:09 am
Last Edited By Gareth Randall on Jan 15, 2015 at 6:54:37 am

Thanks for that, Simon. I should probably have mentioned, my background isn't black - it's a full-frame gradient. Invariably, reflections tutorials use solid colour backgrounds, usually black.

I've been able to get a reflection, albeit without the original colours, by using a black floor and setting its blend mode to Silhouette Luma. I'm assuming that if I wanted it in colour, I'd just have to duplicate and flip the text? The reflection can appear in colour dependent on the blend mode, but it doesn't look quite right in any of them.

Return to posts index

Simon Ubsdell
on Jan 15, 2015 at 9:08:50 am