APPLE MOTION: Motion Forum Motion Tutorials FCP Legacy FCP Tutorials

Pixelated typography with PS/Motion/ FCP

COW Forums : Apple Motion

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Tecia DonaldsonPixelated typography with PS/Motion/ FCP
by on Apr 3, 2013 at 3:07:41 pm

I am fairly new to Motion. I have a typography project where I built my text image in PS-CS6 and imported as a project into Motion. I needed to be able to warp and bend my text layers to create the logo, and motion didn't give me this option like PS does. My PSD was almost 3x the size of me final output. My thought was that I would be able to blow into the image without the text pixelating, but it the edges are stair stepping. What do I need to do to make the edges crisp? Is it because I built the text image in PS and is a PSD and not vector? How can I work around this with out diving into learning AI or something?

Return to posts index

Stephen SmithRe: Pixelated typography with PS/Motion/ FCP
by on Apr 3, 2013 at 3:16:35 pm

Your Photoshop files should look great. Change your Render Resolution to Best and see if it looks sharp. You are given different options so you can utilize real time preview if things get beefier.

Stephen Smith - Follow me on Behance

Utah Video Productions

Check out my Motion Training DVD

Check out my Vimeo page

Return to posts index

Tecia DonaldsonRe: Pixelated typography with PS/Motion/ FCP
by on Apr 3, 2013 at 3:42:50 pm

I actually went as far as exporting a small portion to test it. Even in the exported .mov the text is messed up.

Return to posts index

Stephen SmithRe: Pixelated typography with PS/Motion/ FCP
by on Apr 3, 2013 at 4:01:10 pm

Was the export set to Best?

Stephen Smith - Follow me on Behance

Utah Video Productions

Check out my Motion Training DVD

Check out my Vimeo page

Return to posts index

Tecia DonaldsonRe: Pixelated typography with PS/Motion/ FCP
by on Apr 3, 2013 at 5:22:30 pm

Yes.

Return to posts index