APPLE MOTION: Motion Forum Motion Tutorials FCP Legacy FCP Tutorials

Is there a way to manually track a point in motion?

COW Forums : Apple Motion

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Brad Thomson
Is there a way to manually track a point in motion?
on Dec 2, 2012 at 6:26:41 pm

Hi there,

I'm new to motion 5 and am trying to use tracking to make a few blood hits seem real. In the clip I want my actor to get shot in the chest, and there to be a blood burst on the wall behind her as well. When I try to track the shot and hit analyze it never stays on her chest where I want the blood hit to register. I chose a high contrast point as she is wearing a shirt with a small black heart on it by her right shoulder. However everytime I try to use the point and analyze the clip, the clip doesn't want to follow my point. It definitely strays. I was hoping possibly I could perhaps go frame by frame and manually track the point that I want it to follow myself to take the guess work out of it. Is there a way to do this, or perhaps a way to get a better track? This isn't a tripod steady shot either by the way. It was shot hand held with a little bit of camera motion in time to her shoulder moving back to really sell the blood hit. Any suggestions would be much appreciated! Thanks!

Return to posts index

Jason Watson
Re: Is there a way to manually track a point in motion?
on Dec 3, 2012 at 1:08:48 pm

Brad-

Add the Analyze behavior to your clip as you normally would. Then go to the Track 1 properties and add a keyframe to the Position parameters on the first frame. You can go frame by frame adjusting the position as needed. (Just don't select 'Analyze' to start the analyzing process or else Motion might overwrite what you've already done.)