APPLE MOTION: Motion Forum Motion Tutorials FCP Legacy FCP Tutorials

Fog behind objects!

COW Forums : Apple Motion

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Elliot Beach
Fog behind objects!
on May 30, 2012 at 11:11:28 pm

Hi there,

I am very new to Motion and have not really used it at all, only doing a small amount of stabilization and that's it. FCP and color I am more advanced if that helps. I am trying to create a fog effect in one of my shots and need it to appear behind some objects in the foreground [See images bellow].

So I want the fog to be just above the water covering out the buildings and behind the trumpeter, pier and lamppost. One image in the original and the other is just a fog clip pulled over to give a rough idea for you.

I'm sure its possible to do so can anyone give me a rough idea, name or tutorial that could help me with this. Thanks

(I am posting this in after effects forum as well to see which program would work the best)

- Original

- Fog screen pulled over

Also, is it possible to correct the lens curvature to make the edges of the concrete completely straight?

Return to posts index

Stephen Smith
Re: Fog behind objects!
on May 31, 2012 at 2:51:08 pm

Is the camera moving?

Stephen Smith
Utah Video Productions

Check out my Motion Training DVD

Check out my Vimeo page

Return to posts index

Elliot Beach
on May 31, 2012 at 7:45:52 pm

No, its in a fixed position.

I managed to get quite far in AE as motion seems to be quite slow on my mac which was stressful. I basically made a fog effect using a noise effect then copied a couple times. Then I masked out the bottom part and the trumpeter. I cut the lamppost in Photoshop and layered that over the fog. Working pretty well and now just adjusting the fog effect/color to get the desired effect.

Does motion have a simpler/better method than this?

Return to posts index

Stephen Smith
on Jun 1, 2012 at 4:18:05 pm