APPLE MOTION: Motion Forum Motion Tutorials FCP Legacy FCP Tutorials

fast and smooth moving flame?

COW Forums : Apple Motion

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Florian Fahrenberger
fast and smooth moving flame?
on Jan 8, 2012 at 11:00:58 pm

Hey everyone!

I am quite new to Motion and absolutely amazed by its capabilities. I started using it to work on a small film project with friends and just ran into the following problem:

I want to create a torch (actually, it's supposed to be a chunk of the sun) that moves very fast in some shots.
The flame itself is not the problem, since the presets I found in the library are really helpful and I will get a satisfying result for the look I want if I tweak them a little.
However, the animation always looks crappy when the torch moves very fast, i.e. the tracked path of the particle emitter contains big steps between two frames. In those cases, the animation does not produce a smooth fire trace but a rather spotty path. Here is an example clip of what I mean (don't judge me, the flame still looks like crap...):

My first intuition would be to force Motion to animate at a higher frame rate than the underlying material. Is that possible? If my clip has 25 fps and the particle emitter rendering is done at 100 fps, it would probably already look better, right?
Can you tell me how I can achieve this easily (I have worked with Blender 3D a while ago, and for fire/smoke simulation I was able to adjust the time step of the Lattice-Boltzmann simulation seperately from the project frame rate and could therefore create "inter-frames" that only propagated the animation)? Or is there another, perhaps more elegant solution?

Greetings from Germany (pardon my English),

Floh

Return to posts index

Anders Larsen
Re: fast and smooth moving flame?
on Jan 9, 2012 at 11:54:31 am

Two things to try:
- Increase the Birth Rate of the flame emitter