APPLE MOTION: Motion Forum Motion Tutorials FCP Legacy FCP Tutorials

motion track and match move

COW Forums : Apple Motion

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Henrik Nordström
motion track and match move
on Jul 28, 2011 at 4:06:20 pm

Hello everyone!

I am fairly new to motion and have a question about motion tracking and match move.

I have one clip on a forest and sky and on still picture with a modelspaceship and greenscreen background on.

What I need to do is put these together. And because the forestvideo is moving I need to motion track that and send the data to the spaceship clip.

Now i wonder whats the best way to do this? I have tried with "four corners" and that workout great exept for that the size of the ship docent change when the camera zoom.

So how should I do this?

Henrik

Return to posts index

Anders Larsen
Re: motion track and match move
on Jul 29, 2011 at 12:07:22 pm

Four Corners will distort your spaceship if your trackpoints move in relation to each other.
You're probably better off with a normal track, that uses two points and has Position, Scale and maybe Rotation turned on.

The Motion manual has a quite comprehensive chapter on motion tracking. Also Stephen Smith's "Moving With Motion" has a chapter that does exactly what you are trying to do. (Only with price tags instead of spaceships)

Return to posts index

Henrik Nordström
on Jul 29, 2011 at 12:58:34 pm

I tried with 2 tracking points as you said but unless I position the clip of the ship directly over the tracking point the movement gets all wrong. And its not often you find a good trackingpoint in the skie where I need the ship to bee.

Is there anyway I can move the ship away from the trackingpoint without movement issues? Hope you understand.

And thanks for the tip about the manual, will probably spend the most of the day reading it.

Henrik

Return to posts index

Anders Larsen
on Aug 1, 2011 at 8:08:25 am

The Tracked object attaches at the anchor point.