APPLE MOTION: Motion Forum Motion Tutorials FCP Legacy FCP Tutorials

Template Creation Problem

COW Forums : Apple Motion

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Craig SwansonTemplate Creation Problem
by on Jun 13, 2011 at 7:55:31 am

I have a template I'm setting up for a tennis graphic that we use daily in FCP. Right now everything works fine and this is how we set up the scores for a 3 set match:

But now we want to colorize the winning set yellow like this:

How would everyone tackle this? The set boxes colored would change with just about every match we do (a news highlight show). And During grand slams the matches are 5 sets. That's a lot of different color combinations.

I was thinking a drop zone to change the colors but I'm not sure that will work as I'm not experienced using those.

In an ideal situation I would like the default color of the set boxes to be white. Then all I would need to do is drop a yellow solid onto my drop zone to change the winning set in fcp. Am I on track here? Can drop zones even contain a default color? If anyone has some tips let me know. I'd also like to hear if anyone else uses Motion templates in a sports show with lots of result boards.

Macbook Pro 17
2.6 ghz
4 gigs ram
GeForce 8600 GT 512 mb
Caldigit HDOne Raid 5
QT 7.6.3 / QT 10.0
FCS, CS4 Production

Return to posts index

Jeff GreenbergRe: Template Creation Problem
by on Jun 14, 2011 at 3:19:30 am

I can think a bunch of ways to skin the cat here....

Is the background of the numbers a solid? If so, why not create a gradient (of one color) and drag and drop that?

Best,

Jeff G

Apple Master Trainer | Avid Cert. Instructor DS/MC | Adobe Cert. Instructor
------------
You should follow me (filmgeek) on twitter. I promise to be nice.
Come See me speak at NAB!
Compressor Essentials from Lynda.com
(older but still good) Marquee, Media Composer (3.5) and Basic/Advanced Color DVDs (1.0) from Vasst.com
Contact me through my Website

Return to posts index