APPLE MOTION: Motion Forum Motion Tutorials FCP Legacy FCP Tutorials

What is normal? (regarding rendering)

COW Forums : Apple Motion

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jay Carr
What is normal? (regarding rendering)
on May 24, 2011 at 10:00:59 am

I know this question is somewhat general, but I'm really new at this. I basically picked up several books on how to use Motion, and while I'm starting to feel reasonably comfortable with the program, there are some things a book never tells you.

For example, what to expect from rendering.

I just bought a brand new iMac (27", 3.1 ghz QuadCore i5, 8gb RAM, ATI 6970 w/ 2GB VRAM). When I got it, I was reasonably confident that it would run Motion just fine. Sadly, it doesn't seem to be reaching my expectations. I am, right now, rendering a 3.5 minute video that claims it will take 7.5 HOURS to render. Whats more, it has crashed a few times trying to do this project.

See, this is where my expectations and reality may be in conflict. I don't know what to expect. So let me describe the project. If someone could tell me if my experience is normal, that would be great. Because if it's not, I'm going to need to start trouble shooting...

Project:

The project is fundamentally a group of 5 slides done in 3D space. Basically you watch a slide build (with a voice over) and when it is finished, you zoom to the next one (through 3D space.)

Possible complications
-- 3D: I'm using a huge backdrop in this project (I think it's probably 20,000 pixels long on the horizontal, and 20,000 wide with a similarly sized vertical backdrop). It's basically just two giant sheets of white with the "floor" set to be reflective. I'm using it so that when any lights shine off into the distance, they are caught by something.