APPLE MOTION: Motion Forum Motion Tutorials FCP Legacy FCP Tutorials

Video disappears when Selectiong Variable Speed

COW Forums : Apple Motion

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Dawn Mikkelson
Video disappears when Selectiong Variable Speed
on Mar 25, 2011 at 5:44:21 pm

I'm relatively new to working in Motion (Using Motion 4), but have edited on FCP for over a decade. Feeling really stupid here, but trying to create a variable speed slow motion from a clip exported from FCP. Every time I select Variable Speed, the preview goes to black. When I look at my layers, the clip is still nested in Group 1, but the thumbnail for Group 1 is also blank. What am I doing wrong? Anyone???? The online tutorials for this process seem easy, but their video doesn't disappear.

Dawn

Return to posts index

Jonathan Proby
Re: Video disappears when Selectiong Variable Speed
on Apr 6, 2011 at 12:19:52 am

I have a done a bit in motion, and with large projects (either a lot of effects, big HD, long project) I have often found a video disappearing when making a change. The really annoying thing is that when I export it the video is still gone.

My Solution:
Break up the project into smaller chunks. Or if you are doing multiple layers of effects, turn off all but the first layer and export. Then bring the newly effected file back into Motion, and add more effects.

If you are only doing time remapping you probably can't turn off other effects, but you can cut it into smaller chunks (on one project I was working with 10-15 second clips.

I hope this helps

-Proby

Return to posts index

Brian dowtin
[Solved] Re: Video disappears when Selecting Variable Speed
on Apr 27, 2011 at 5:59:24 am

I had the same problem - linking to motion from Final Cut.

The fix: after selecting 'Variable Speed' in the time remap window, (and the preview goes black) go in and select it again.

---