APPLE MOTION: Motion Forum Motion Tutorials FCP Legacy FCP Tutorials

Upgrade to Motion2?

COW Forums : Apple Motion

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
alan lacey
Upgrade to Motion2?
on Jun 11, 2005 at 4:55:02 pm

I'm pretty new to all things Mac and have decided to delay the ug to Tiger and FCP5 until I'm up to speed with FCP4.5 etc etc.

However I'd really like to ug to Motion2.

Will M2 run on Panther and talk to FCP4.5. I'd be purchasing the whole production bundle along with Tiger, just not installing most of it for the moment.

Can someone tell me please if the ug bundle will allow the installation of just Motion2 or perhaps this is just a lame idea?

Thanks for advice,

Alan (London)

Return to posts index

MrVideo
Re: Upgrade to Motion2?
on Jun 11, 2005 at 10:28:24 pm

According to all the information I have acquired at NAB and other forums, Motion 2 runs better on Tiger than on 10.3.9. Don't know if that really is true but it seems to be the passing wisdom.

Return to posts index

VideoManSF
on Jun 11, 2005 at 10:44:59 pm

FCP5 and motion 2 are VERY integrated now. Literally your one click from moving media into or from either program, and it is all very seamless. I would NOT recommend running motion on 10.3.9. Half of the new code requires 10.4, and you will not be very impressed, with out 10.4. Now, that being said, if you have a G4 you have just about reached the software end of the line with 10.3.9 and FCP 4.5 Motion 1. If you have a G5, you'll see around 20-30% performance gains in 10.4.1 with FCP 5, and Motion 2. At $800 for the upgrade from FCP you'll be mostly left in a quandary over to move or not. For me on a Dual 2.7 G5 with 8GB ram and Xraid 5.6TB there is no question, upgrade. My 2.5G5 vs the 2.7G5 are over 30% apart mostly due to the os difference and refinements to FCP5 Mo2.

Return to posts index

Peter Wiggins
on Jun 11, 2005 at 10:57:03 pm

[VideoManSF] "I would NOT recommend running motion on 10.3.9"