BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Music video copyright/ownership

COW Forums : Business & Career Building

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Ryan Conway
Music video copyright/ownership
on Feb 18, 2019 at 4:19:10 pm

Hello All-

Trying to obtain a little clarity regarding both legality and a general sense of what is common practice or considered fair.

Backstory- I'm a music producer and studio owner, have done a fair amount of sync licensing etc so I have a solid idea of how copyright works in my world. Recently I'm partnering with another guy and we are expanding into more of a full service production company. We are writing/producing the music, and also offering both in studio and full music videos in package deals to the artists, as well as ultimately marketing and pitching them.

In the video category, we are hiring out all the shooting and editing of the video to pro's. They bring their lights, cameras, drones and any camera movement equipment. What we are responsible for is coordinating with the client, hiring and organizing any actors, dancers, choreographers, stylists etc as well as renting any space, or using the recording studio space, providing any backdrops, working with clients on any storylines etc.

So naturally my question is what is a reasonable approach to copyright ownership of the final work product and the raw footage? I know that ultimately it comes down to contracts, but in music there are some 'norms' that aren't strictly legal, but are common enough that people who don't abide by them are generally shown the door. I'm wondering if anyone has any input here? How might that differ if we pay the rate card vs say double their advertised rates?