BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

How should I invoice for a fixed price project?

COW Forums : Business & Career Building

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Chris Park
How should I invoice for a fixed price project?
on Nov 8, 2018 at 8:11:05 am

Hi there!

First of all, thanks so much for sparing your precious time for me :).

I'm a motion designer in Sydney with about a year of experience in the industry but have never done a fixed price freelance work before.

But this time a client (whom I've worked for as a casual on hourly bases a few times before) has asked me to deliver a project for a fixed price, which I said yes, but I'm simply lost on how to handle the "getting paid" part.

It is quite an urgent project and the given timeline is only 5 days from start to finish, but I'm expected to spend a lot of hours a day.

I first thought of invoicing 50% of the total price up front and the remaining 50% at the completion but considering the time frame both of them would be paid as a whole anyways.

So, I'm thinking of asking for a payment as a whole at the completion of the project. and if the project gets cancelled in the middle of it, claim for the hours I've spent so far by hourly rate.

I was wondering if it's a real enough plan, or is there any recommendations or insights on how these matters are normally handled?

Also, Is it necessary to write down a contract, or would it be okay as long as I have agreement on the above terms in the email comms?

Thank you in advance.

Cheers!
C

Return to posts index

Mark Suszko
Re: How should I invoice for a fixed price project?
on Nov 8, 2018 at 3:16:41 pm
Last Edited By Mark Suszko on Nov 8, 2018 at 3:41:44 pm

You're probably right that the short turn-around time makes it impractical to break the payments down into a down payment and a final. Though that's always the best way to go IMO.