BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

How Long To Edit a Reality Show?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT
Emily Geraghty
How Long To Edit a Reality Show?
on Nov 8, 2017 at 10:39:38 pm

Hi!

I'm working on a project that's taking me longer than I'd like it to, and probably longer than my company would like it to. So I thought I'd ask ya'll what your opinion is.

I'm a producer, shooter, editor sort of person. I produced, directed and edited a 3-cam reality show style web video over the course of 30 days. It includes about 6 hours of 3-cam footage + external audio, and a blogs shot on an iPhone for every day, 27 days.

Pulling selects, putting everything together, scoring, etc...looks like it's going to take me about 8 days for a 20 minute rough cut.

This doesn't include days where I'm in meetings and lose 1.5 hours, an hour here, a half hour there.

I feel like a crazy person that it's taking me as long as it's taking me.

Does anyone have experience in making reality TV? Can you tell me what usually goes into your edit schedules? Let me know any and all thoughts you have.

Thanks,
Em

Return to posts index

Shane Ross
Re: How Long To Edit a Reality Show?
on Nov 8, 2017 at 11:31:31 pm

Well, for an hour long show (45 min)...where we already have story producers who've pulled together rough scene work...meaning they've already combed the hundreds of hours of footage to narrow it down to smaller sections...it takes 6 editors 5 days to make a rough cut. So that's 30 days right there, just for the rough cut, and for already roughed out scenes. Then a few days (all editors) for the fine cut, and more for the locked pic. An hour long show might take two months of edit time to get done (which when we have 6 editors, takes two weeks).