BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Wedding Videography Negligence = $$$ Reimbursement? Is this legal?

COW Forums : Business & Career Building

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Chris Campbell
Wedding Videography Negligence = $$$ Reimbursement? Is this legal?
on Jan 19, 2017 at 10:13:45 am

Hello Creative Cow,

I'm a wedding videographer who's just applied to this one wedding videography company. They sent me a document to sign and 95% of it is exactly what I'm expecting.

But, there's one policy in there pertaining to 'Videographer Negligence' (IE I don't show up for a booked wedding, or don't keep the company informed properly of days I can't work (the latter is a possible issue with my work schedule as it's made weekly)). If I fail to uphold this, they say the videographer would be responsible for a reimbursement of $5000+ dollars. This to me screams red flag but admittedly I'm relatively new to the industry. Further adding to my doubts is my state of residence was not listed in their list of market states.

This could be me being paranoid, but if this was a scam, they could purposefully book weddings I would not be able to shoot and then charge me for negligence.

Nothing has been signed yet. I was hoping to get a little more understanding about this before I committed to anything.

Any help would be appreciated.

Return to posts index

Mark Suszko
Re: Wedding Videography Negligence = $$$ Reimbursement? Is this legal?
on Jan 19, 2017 at 5:58:37 pm

Flip the script for a moment: You're the owner. You've booked an expensive wedding and then at the last minute your staffer flakes on you and is a no-show. The bridezilla is going to sue the pants off of you. If you don't have some kind of insurance policy to cover this, the next place to get the money becomes the crew that left you in the lurch.