BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Feeling Overwhelmed, need advice.

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Lindsay McCutcheonFeeling Overwhelmed, need advice.
by on Jul 30, 2016 at 2:40:06 am

Hi everyone,

I recently uploaded a video to Youtube I had been working on for five months featuring Disney movies from the past 30 years.

Link Here:

It went a bit viral and got over 2.1 million views over the past 3 days.

Anyway, I've been inundated with requests to do contract work, some from big name companies and I'm totally overwhelmed.

This is an industry I'm interested in breaking into but I have no formal training with industry standards/rates etc.

I have no idea where to go from here and I'm afraid of wasting these companies time, but at the same time I really don't want to pass up these opportunities.

How did you first get into the industry? Should I be accepting these offers? If I do what do I charge?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Return to posts index

Brian MillsRe: Feeling Overwhelmed, need advice.
by on Jul 30, 2016 at 4:19:23 am

Hi Lindsay:

I saw your video the other day when linked to it and was really impressed. Well done!

You've got talent and you've got skills, so heck yes it's time to jump in and "go professional" (ie get paid).

When working in the professional video world, I generally find two types of clients: those that want you to spearhead the creative vision and those that want you to execute the vision of a creative director.