BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Independent Contractor agreement says Contractor gets paid "after Company receives payment from Company’s clients" - Is this legit?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Mike BissonetteIndependent Contractor agreement says Contractor gets paid "after Company receives payment from Company’s clients" - Is this legit?
by on Mar 12, 2016 at 10:49:21 pm

I'm reasonably new to this forum. I am an freelance editor, and just received an Independent Contractor agreement to sign. I haven't dealt with a lot of these, and there's one item about compensation in it that concerns me. The section reads:

"Independent Contractor shall invoice Company on a monthly or more frequent basis and within 30 days after the project/job to which the invoice pertains. Such compensation shall become due and payable to Independent Contractor within 30 days after Company receives payment from Company’s clients for service provided by Independent Contractor."

Does this mean if I do $5000 worth of work for the company but their client doesn't pay them for six months that I have to wait six months for my $5000 payment? I don't want to wait for their client to pay them. That's between them and their client. Isn't it? Would it be a good idea to just cross out second sentence, or re-word it?

Return to posts index

Todd TerryRe: Independent Contractor agreement says Contractor gets paid "after Company receives payment from Company’s clients" - Is this legit?
by on Mar 13, 2016 at 12:53:45 am

[Mike Bissonette] "Does this mean if I do $5000 worth of work for the company but their client doesn't pay them for six months that I have to wait six months for my $5000 payment?"

No, not at all.

It means you have to wait seven months to get paid, because the contract gives them another 30 days to pay after their client pays them.