BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

New to freelance Motion Graphics charges

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Vishal VargheseNew to freelance Motion Graphics charges
by on Feb 27, 2016 at 5:21:06 am

Hello,
I a Motion Graphics Designer. I have been working for over 2 years for a Motion Graphics Studio and now has started freelancing. Since I'm new to freelancing I don't know how much to charge for each video. The studio I used to work for does projects for about $2000-$3000 for every 60 seconds.
I'm not a beginner in Motion Graphics but not an expert either. Since it's my first time freelancing I would like some suggestions on how much to charge. I'm not expecting the same budget(or anything close) the studio takes up, I would like an expert's opinion on this.

for reference here's the link to my demo reel 2015 (some of the works I did at my previous employer's)

https://vimeo.com/150357504

Thanks

Regards,
Vishal V

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: New to freelance Motion Graphics charges
by on Feb 29, 2016 at 5:19:16 pm

Nice work. Could use some kinetic typography pieces and 3-d pieces to broaden the appeal.
You could just start by charging what the company used to charge. But there's a lot involved in calculating a rate, and I recommend you charge using an hourly and/or day rate, with an estimate of the time the project will take, versus just offering a one-size-fits-all "package" price. That's temptingly simple, but not always in your best interest.