BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Advice for Pursuing a Full-Time Video Editing/Post Production Career?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Matt Yaple
Advice for Pursuing a Full-Time Video Editing/Post Production Career?
on Dec 21, 2015 at 3:55:57 pm

Hello!

My name is Matt, and I'm a freelance video editor and motion graphics designer. I know this question has been asked numerous times before, but I'm hoping to acquire advice for my specific scenario.

First of all, I'm currently 16 and I'm planning on moving to Los Angeles shortly after I turn 18 in the summer of 2017. My mind has been made up for awhile now, and I've been saving as much money, and building as much experience as I can before the time comes for me to move. I'm also homeschooled, which allows me to have a lot more free time, and opportunities that other kids my age don't.

I started my freelance career in July of this year (2015) and despite starting out slow, business has really picked up! I'm now making over $1000 per month working between 15-30 hours a week. Recently, I've started producing three videos per week for the YouTube channel "Wacky Wednesday" which has over 1.2 Million subscribers!

Now that you know a bit about myself, I would really appreciate any and all advice from people in the industry.

What should I be working to improve?

Is there anything specific I should be learning or focusing my time on?

Once I finish school, how should I go about finding my first job in LA?

No matter what, I will be moving to Los Angeles in 2017. I'm working very hard to build as much experience as I can for when that time comes. And, I'm also saving as much money as I can, since I know I'll need a hefty savings once I move. I already have over $5,000 saved, and I'm continuing to save at least half of everything I make.