BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

How to market self as Technical Director?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
craig Jurkoic
How to market self as Technical Director?
on Nov 23, 2015 at 11:44:34 pm

I am a contractor, directing video / multi cam at live events for 12 years. Aka "Technical Director".
Corporate, motivational and trade group events throughout US.
200-600 participants
3-8 cameras

How do I market myself, get new clients?

All contributions appreciated.
(Previously I worked almost exclusively for just one client.)

-Craig

Return to posts index

Tim Wilson
Re: How to market self as Technical Director?
on Nov 24, 2015 at 12:27:23 am

Who do you want as new clients? Can you be more specific?

To put it another way, what kind of projects are they doing? Who are they using instead of you?

And, if a particular kind of client isn't doing your kind of projects, what would make them want to start?

Also, what's your location?

More details, and we may be able to help you a little better. :-)

Return to posts index

craig Jurkoic
on Nov 24, 2015 at 1:31:57 am
Last Edited By craig Jurkoic on Nov 24, 2015 at 1:39:14 am

Awesome questions, Tim. Thanks

"Who do you want as new clients? Can you be more specific? what kind of projects are they doing?" "

I'm not picky. The last client would phone me a few weeks or days in advance e.g.: am I available Sept 2-7 for a gig in Dallas, Phoenix, LV etc.. They'd arrange eticket flights, cover food and on-site hotel.
The speakers are typically motivational, marketing.
Days are 12-18 hours.
My video goes to big screens, live-streamed to web and recorded for salable product.
I’d be paid within a few weeks.

Frankly I don’t really know what to compare it to; I don’t know what I don’t know.

"Who are they using instead of you?"