BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Independent Work for Hire Editor Contracts

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Michelle MacKinnonIndependent Work for Hire Editor Contracts
by on Nov 20, 2015 at 1:04:19 am

This is my first post here at CreativeCow, but I've read many posts and I've always found the editors in the CC community experienced and willing to share valuable information. I apologize in advance for the lengthy post, but I want to make clear I'm a committed and diligent editor who had every intention of providing full time working hours for 6-8 weeks and commit to no other job in the interim.

I recently landed my first feature documentary film. The budget is low, and I agreed to a fixed amount for the total project. In my excitement, and my interest in the subject, I forgot to address the business end which includes a contract. The filmmaker informed me during our first meeting at the end of October several hours of HD footage had been shot, and 40 hours of tape yet to digitize. At that time I extend my hand and offered to do a portion of the digitizing and was met with a vague reply. The date for our first editing session was November 16.

I did not hear from the filmmaker for two weeks, and during that time I researched the subject and issue, watched recommended documentaries, and wrote up a document with all the relevant questions needed for me to understand the style and focus of the work. The filmmaker, during this time, was suppose to digitize footage for transfer on November 16. On Nov. 15 a check for the total payment amount for the job arrived. I was surprised and right there a red flag warning should have appeared. Since we had scheduled our first full 6-7 hour editing session for the following day, I didn't think the advanced payment unprofessional.