BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

what should I charge for a 3-5 minute After Effects animation? Am I under-selling, or overselling myself?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Bre Snitchlerwhat should I charge for a 3-5 minute After Effects animation? Am I under-selling, or overselling myself?
by on Sep 3, 2015 at 8:06:24 am

Hello!

I realize there are multiple threads that somewhat answer my question, which is how I decided on my base rate. I just want some reassurance that my rate is reasonable.

I've been doing freelance design work in my spare time for about three years now. The passed few months, work has been picking up tremendously and it is now my sole source of income. Most of my work has been overflow from other companies.

I'm currently working on a fairly basic after effects animation. It will end up being anywhere from 3-5 minutes long, and I expect to spend about a week total on the project.

The company I'm freelancing for does a lot of motion graphics work for automotive companies. I've done work with them before, but My previous jobs have all been photoshop, illustrator, or InDesign based. I have experience with After Effects, but I've kind of been re-teaching myself along the way, which the company understands 100% and they've been helping me out along the way. I work out of their office, on their computers, and drink their coffee/eat their snacks. I can come and go as I please as long as I get the job done.