BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Another "How much should I charge for" question from recent graduate student

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
jimmy chen
Another "How much should I charge for" question from recent graduate student
on Aug 24, 2015 at 10:23:55 pm

Hi all, sorry in advice if this is not the most appropriate place to post this question. I've already checked many posts but didn't really find my answer.

I'm a recent graduate student getting started into the industry and I'm struggling with the hourly rate and day rate, or any possible way for me to charge people.

I have some of my own gear like a 5D II, Rode shotgun mic, portable sound recording device (H4N), some solid tripod, and lens.

I've been working on some of the 3-5 minuets commercial videos

I'm in charge to set up, record footage on set, and everything else in post.

I uses final pro X, adobe premiere, Avid,

moreover, If I'm shooting a product advertisement, how should I charge for? that means to do everything including gears, creating concept, and post-production.

Or maybe the better question is how do I know how much I should get pay for in my level? is there any website that gives more suggestion or even some kind of statistics?

Return to posts index

Ned Miller
Re: Another "How much should I charge for" question from recent graduate student
on Aug 25, 2015 at 12:45:41 pm

I disagree. That topic has been discussed ad nauseam on this forum. It is so sad that the mere act of buying $3000 of equipment allows a newbie to compete against us.

Ned Miller
Chicago Videographer
http://www.nedmiller.com
www,bizvideo.com

Return to posts index

Mark Suszko
Re: Another "How much should I charge for" question from recent graduate student
on Aug 25, 2015 at 4:59:14 pm
Last Edited By Mark Suszko on Aug 25, 2015 at 6:27:14 pm

Ned needs a hug, everybody.