BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Rights and pay question for those of you who have worked with newspapers and online media.

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Thackston AddyRights and pay question for those of you who have worked with newspapers and online media.
by on Aug 14, 2015 at 3:14:36 pm

Hello Business and Marketing Community,

I’m an indie filmmaker and seasoned artist working on a series of tiny documentaries interviewing different artists. The docs are 3 min long. It’s a personal project of mine. Currently they’re on Vimeo with tight privacy settings (anyone can view, no downloads, no embeds, no to everything else. Linking was the only option).

An editor of a local weekly affiliated with a national newspaper contacted me about hosting the video series on their website. The pay they offered was super meager, so I asked for double. (I have written print articles for them before. notorious low pay.) They got back to me stating, "My editor won't budge. He said we could use the vids for free if we waited until you published them elsewhere, which is true I guess but pretty tacky.”

I’ve since changed the vids to password protected. I had wanted to host them somewhere as a series, eventually submitting to festivals, but I don't want to lose my rights. It’s not news and it's not a work for hire since I'm making them on my own accord- they would just be hosting them.

Yes, I'd like the "exposure" as a way to draw in some production and editing business, but not at the risk of losing rights. The pay issue suddenly became secondary, but not really.

Can someone enlighten me on this or point me in a direction to find out more?

many thanks,

Return to posts index

David SikesRe: Rights and pay question for those of you who have worked with newspapers and online media.
by on Aug 14, 2015 at 3:33:57 pm