BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Commission for a Wedding Video

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Nick KinderCommission for a Wedding Video
by on Aug 11, 2015 at 12:11:07 am

Hi. A couple of days ago, I received an email from a woman who is getting married next year and has asked for me to make a 10ish minute video to be shown during her wedding.

I'm a semi-popular editor on YouTube as I make montages of certain groups of films. Here are a couple examples of my work:
The Movies of 2012 -
The Wonders of Disney Animation -

She wants a video similar to the latter as her and her fiance are in the animation industry and their wedding theme will be animation. I am to included Disney, Pixar, Dreamworks, and Studio Ghibli films.

I've never done a video for commission so I have no idea where to begin when it comes to setting a price. I've done some research, but it's hard for me to decide. A 10 minute video, as you all know, is a very challenging task, especially since I will need to collect my sources and organize/watch every movie. It will take a few months.

I hope I can get some feedback from you all and try to figure this thing out because I am very excited to take this challenge head on. I just need to know a reasonable price to set.

Thank you!

Return to posts index

Mads Nybo JørgensenRe: Commission for a Wedding Video
by on Aug 11, 2015 at 2:09:53 pm
Last Edited By Mads Nybo Jørgensen on Aug 11, 2015 at 8:30:56 pm

Hey Nick,

You are clearly very talented and have got a great following - well done.

Three things to consider:

1) How much of a return do you get on your current work? Including any revenue from other work and Google running display adverts over your videos?