BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Can a demo reel include content that you edited using pre-existing material?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Tayla Blewitt-Gray
Can a demo reel include content that you edited using pre-existing material?
on Jul 16, 2015 at 3:52:59 am

So I've gotten news that I should be applying for a job as a video editor, I've tried contacting the company to find out their personal response but have yet to receive a reply.

I have created a couple of videos that have involved using existing material i.e. news broadcast edited all together, disney girls/women from different movies put to the Mulan song "A Girl Worth Fighting For."

In most cases I would never think about using this type of stuff but since the job involves editing videos such as gameplay and short films I feel it would show off my editing skills.

If it makes you nervous, and excited, go do it.

Return to posts index

Mark Suszko
Re: Can a demo reel include content that you edited using pre-existing material?
on Jul 16, 2015 at 2:12:01 pm

It isn't ideal to have only that kind of stuff in the reel, but I wouldn't say to*never* show it. However, it has to be really, REALLY good.If it's just showing you can cut to a beat, that may not be enough. If it shows unexpected, yet effective transpositions or really creative re-purposing of a shot, that's a better example.

Have you seen any of the online demos of movie trailers re-cut into completely different styles? Like "Must Love Jaws:, or, the "zombie" version of "West Side Story"?

Return to posts index

Tayla Blewitt-Gray
Re: Can a demo reel include content that you edited using pre-existing material?
on Jul 17, 2015 at 5:53:57 am

Thanks Mark,