BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Legalities of filming at a dog park?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
stan welksLegalities of filming at a dog park?
by on Jul 7, 2015 at 3:38:43 am

I want to shoot some video of my dog at a dog park. I will do my best to not get any people into the shot, though I would like for my dog to play with other dogs in a shot. The footage will be part of a longer video that will be distributed online.

1. How do I know if I can legally film, and use this footage from the dog park?
2. Are there issues with filming my dog playing with other dogs? Do I need release forms to show other dogs in my video?

Return to posts index

Jonathan ZieglerRe: Legalities of filming at a dog park?
by on Jul 7, 2015 at 1:30:31 pm

First off: I'm no lawyer. If you want a definitive answer, talk to a real one. That said:

Don't worry about the releases for the dogs unless they have ads on them (I'm guessing they wont). As for the people, if you are showing people playing with their dogs in a park, you won't need a release since it's a public place and nobody is selling anything or has big huge logos on them. Worry more about logos in the distance.

Devils advocate time: if you can get a release from the people and their dogs (dogs are a property release), then it can't hurt, but you only need to have a release if you are selling something or promoting something. I used to think you always needed a release, but it's only if you are selling something or pushing an idea. Most people are just being safe which is smart, but don't let it stop you from shooting.

Save early. Save often.

Jonathan Ziegler

Return to posts index

stan welksRe: Legalities of filming at a dog park?
by on Jul 16, 2015 at 8:22:44 pm