BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Cold Calling/Approaching Production Companies For Job ?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Clyde FinnCold Calling/Approaching Production Companies For Job ?
by on Apr 19, 2015 at 9:55:44 pm

I have recently graduated with a degree in film and TV production from a big university. I have 2-3 years work experience from when I was still in school from working both on and off campus doing production work. I have emailed the 5-6 production companies in my city introducing myself and expressing my interest in working for them. I have had zero responses. I never solicited my resume or demo real but said that they were available upon request.

I am considering moving to a bigger city and attempting to get a job working at a production company. To my knowledge, most production companies don't really advertise or post job openings like most other fields do.

Does anyone have any suggestions for how to best approach this situation in order to land an interview, or better yet a JOB ? My mistake last time I cold approached via email was that I did not call and follow up. It may have been a different outcome, but I have decided that moving to a bigger city would be better for me and just decided to not pursue the places I emailed in favor of moving and trying elsewhere. I really want a fresh start and bigger cities normally have more opportunities.

I do all aspects of production, from writing, to directing, editing, motion graphics, and post production. Ideally, I would like to be involved in all of these when I start working. Any suggestions on what I should put on the application for what position I'm applying for?