BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Growing my business

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
John MorgeraGrowing my business
by on Apr 15, 2015 at 2:32:39 pm

I'm a videographer/editor in the Philadelphia market, and am looking to get more work. Right now I work full time at a television station, and use my off days to get as much freelance work as I can. I'm about 50% weddings and 50% small corporate videos. 95% of all of my work is one-man band type shoots.

My overall goal is to move to doing freelance work full time, and get more consistent corporate work and/or more wedding work. I'm having trouble finding clients who consistently need more than one job and potentially need bigger productions, consistently getting leads, and with weddings, getting referrals and finding new clients.

So, I was hoping maybe anyone had any advice for me, whether in a similar situation or someone with more experience who could give me an idea of ways to get more business.

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: Growing my business
by on Apr 15, 2015 at 2:45:45 pm

You can't serve two masters equally well.

Corporate clients shy away from 'wedding guys:" and wedding/event clients don't think a corporate shooter knows how to tell their story. We know that isn't true, but I'm talking about perceptions and markets here. If you serve both markets, make an effort to make them visibly distinct and separate businesses, even down to having separate web sites and phone numbers (they can all still forward to your pocket phone anyway, but this is customer psychology we're talking about).