BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Charge for a short corporate web video

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Erich RauCharge for a short corporate web video
by on Apr 9, 2015 at 12:03:30 pm

Hi all,

I just finished up a two-minute web video for a plastic injection mold company, and I don't know what to ask for my services. I graduated a year ago with a major in Media Communications with an emphasis on TV and video production, but previously all of my work has been through school (no-pay) or work for non-profits and starving artists (again, no pay). Also, this is not my main line of work so I don't have office costs or anything like that. I teach English in China and just happened upon an American factory owner who needed some video work done.

Anyway, here are the details:
- Like I said, the video is approximately two minutes long
- 4 hours or so in planning meetings
- 10 hours shooting on location in factories
- 8 hours editing (FCP and just a little After Effects)
- I used all equipment that I already own
- My client wrote the script

I have a finished product, and my client is very pleased. He wants to do more videos in the future, so I want to set a rate that will be beneficial to me, but doesn't scare him away.

Also, I'll repeat that I don't need the money. I'm honestly more interested in building my portfolio, but I know I need to set rates at some point.

So please let me know what you think. Even a ballpark would help. Thanks.

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: Charge for a short corporate web video
by on Apr 9, 2015 at 2:23:53 pm
Last Edited By Mark Suszko on Apr 9, 2015 at 2:39:20 pm

Well, start with what you make hourly at your *real* job, then mark that rate up by fifteen percent. Or fifty bucks US per hour, whichever is higher.