BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Multiple jobs on set and rates

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Daniel StoneMultiple jobs on set and rates
by on Mar 28, 2015 at 1:58:12 pm

What's the rate protocol on asking a crew member to do multiple key jobs on a production?

For example, if I ask a camera operator to also take stills, do I pay him/her both rates? This is a tricky one because my cam op is also a still photographer by trade and I know still photogs have a completely different price structure.

Thanks for any input.

Return to posts index

walter biscardiRe: Multiple jobs on set and rates
by on Mar 28, 2015 at 2:21:25 pm

You don't pay extra for stills, at least not in my experience. The Photographer is already there getting paid to shoot video. They shoot off some stills as well, usually on the same camera but even if it's a second camera, it's still a digital transfer over to you.

If you have two separate people there, then it's two charges.

I've done productions both ways and have never paid the videographer extra for shooting stills while we're in production. Heck at the last shoot the sound guy was taking pictures too and gave me about 100 stills over 3 days.

Walter Biscardi, Jr.
Editor, Colorist, Director, Writer, Consultant, Author, Chef.
HD Post and Production
Biscardi Creative Media

Craft and Career Advice & Training from real Working Creative Professionals

Blog Twitter Facebook

Return to posts index

Rich RubaschRe: Multiple jobs on set and rates
by on Mar 28, 2015 at 7:10:18 pm

Interesting take Walter. So if you were asked to take stills for a job and half way in they wanted you to run the Bcam on a TV spot shoot you would be happy to do both at the same rate? Or if your audio guy was recording audio and the DP asked him to run the slider on the Bcam the audio guy should charge the same day rate?