BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Late twenty something "editor" could use some advice

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Hunter Leachman
Late twenty something "editor" could use some advice
on Mar 15, 2015 at 12:57:57 am
Last Edited By Hunter Leachman on Mar 15, 2015 at 1:01:14 am

I graduated from film school and moved to Los Angeles in 2012. I interned for three months at a reality TV company stringing together "sizzle reels" mainly from ripped Youtube videos. Once that was over, got some part-time work with an editor I met at that company.

After a few months of working about 10-15 hours a week at $10/hr, he asked me to work for free on a feature where everyone was getting paid. I said no, which I know wasn't the best move, but he had pumped and dumped my expectations on the level of work/pay constantly, and the request to basically work full time for six weeks with no pay was just the last straw, and with all due respect to the guy, it seemed like a sinking ship I needed to get away from.

After that, I decided that the industry was dominate or be dominated, instigate or be.. instigated against? So I spurred a couple of my own mini-web projects. They all failed to realize any return, but were done very cheaply and my reel got better and I get more edit work now, but not enough to survive on.

I really want to edit but have yet to make a sustainable living from it. I'm not the biggest fan of LA, there are definitely pros (really cool people occasionally), but a lot of cons (too crowded, too many jaded types, too many whackos, too many flakes/burnouts). I don't like the financial outlook of Los Angeles, compared to my home city.

A. How much do I need LA vs. say Dallas, Atlanta, or Austin? Please real info only, no "I hear the scene in Austin is good blah blah stuff."