BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Picture Editing Contract Template

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Alex Brueckner
Picture Editing Contract Template
on Mar 9, 2015 at 6:23:39 pm

Hi folks,

I've been an editor for a long time now, but generally work for people who draw up their own contracts. I'm about to be in a position where I will need to draw up my own contract for a short film, and I haven't had much luck finding appropriate templates or info online anywhere. Plenty of crew contracts/deal memos are to be found, but when it comes to Editing, I'm coming up short. I'd be very appreciative if anyone has anything they could send as a guideline, or advice on where to look.

Thanks to anyone who can help!

Return to posts index

Mark Suszko
Re: Picture Editing Contract Template
on Mar 9, 2015 at 6:47:51 pm

How about this blast from the past?

https://forums.creativecow.net/thread/17/865818

Return to posts index

Alex Brueckner
on Mar 9, 2015 at 7:09:32 pm

Hahaha, that is exactly what I am aiming to avoid!

Return to posts index

Richard Herd
on Mar 9, 2015 at 9:00:13 pm
Last Edited By Richard Herd on Mar 9, 2015 at 9:02:41 pm

To be real, there is no actual market for short films, meaning the producer/financier will not make any investment back. I do these projects as follows. Number 1: Do I like and trust this person and or the project? If so, then I will work at a discount, but still get paid real money. That's a negotiation. Number 2: how much footage is there? If there is 1 minute of footage, then it will take 1 minute to just watch it, and I haven't even made a cut. Number 3: I work like this Assemble Edit, client review, and I get paid, or I don't move on. Number 4. Rough Cut, client review, I get paid, or I don't move on. Number 5. Final Cut/Audio/Color: client review, I get paid.