BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Charge for a short promo for academic department

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jenn Lindsay
Charge for a short promo for academic department
on Mar 6, 2015 at 10:23:30 am

Hi there!

I'm a PhD student, and long before I got into this impoverishing line of torture I worked in post-production in NYC for about 5 years. I continue to use my production skills to make short docs to use as teaching tools. This year I was able to secure academic funding by making five 12-minute movies about the activities of a research facility on campus. I probably got paid about 10% of "industry standard," but that's how grad school rolls I guess. (Example: https://vimeo.com/119710312)

I have some footage of undergrads doing interviews about their experiences taking classes in my department and I thought of pitching a "promo" video to my department that they could use to try and drum up enrollments. I already have the footage so it's just a matter of cutting it and adding audio. It will probably be around 8-10 minutes of talking heads and related b-roll, not too technical. I'm a musician and tend to use my own scoring for audio, and I also create swift little Intros on Motion. I imagine it would take about 40 hours from logging to final cut.

When I imagine what to charge my department for such a proposal I am very unsure was to what normal, professional, dignified editor people would charge. I'd like to know a ballpark range so I know how much to ask for. I will inevitably ask under market, but I'd like to know how much I'm undercutting myself!

Any thoughts?

Thanks very much!
Jenn Lindsay

http://www.JennLindsay.com
iMac 27-inch, 3.5 GHz Intel Core i7. 4GB GPU.
FCPX

Return to posts index

Mark Suszko
Re: Charge for a short promo for academic department
on Mar 6, 2015 at 4:11:44 pm