BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Music rights - please advise !!

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Tal Mor
Music rights - please advise !!
on Mar 2, 2015 at 8:13:52 pm

I really hope someone can advise me on the following -

I'm a student for fashion photography.
For my graduation project, I shot and edited a beautiful 3 minutes video.
I put a huge amount of effort into this project.

Already from the start, the inspiration for this project has been a certain piece of electronic music which I love.

I got inspired and had an amazing idea which I loved.
Since I loved the idea so much, although I'm a student, I decided to invest some money on this project.

I wanted to make it right, and contacted the music right administration in my country (Israel)
They told me that it's not a problem especially since it's a student's film and since I have no intentions of gaining any profits from it.

So I got an "OK", and happily went ahead and produced the video.

I'm now in the final stages of editing.
Unfortunately, everything seems to fall apart -

I was referred by the rights administration in my country to the publisher of the music which are in the UK.
After tons of emails and questions, they told me that I got a rejection from the writer of the music.

I'm really broken by this.

This music was the inspiration for the project. I can't change it. It won't be the same.

I understood that perhaps I shouldn't have asked for permission from the start.
That worst case, you tube would either mute the music or worst, take off the video (see: https://support.google.com/youtube/answer/6013276?hl=en)
But most chances are that I would get a disclaimer and acknowledge it and then the video can be online but without any monetization (which I don't need anyhow)
But now, since I got a rejection, if I put it online I'm afraid I might get sued.