BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

A/V Editor Salary/Experience level question

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Emily Zhai
A/V Editor Salary/Experience level question
on Jan 31, 2015 at 7:10:25 am

Hi guys,

Just wondering for big studio or networks, how many years a AV editor is considered "senior"? I've been an editor at a small trailer house in LA for two years. Even though it's small, we got a LOT to do. From last year, we started post business, too. Several TV shows and feature films and still trailer projects. 32-hrs-in-a-row is quite often. I've been hands-on from my first day of work. And I can basically handle a whole new tv show by myself now (logging, editing, graphics, finishing, did the pilot all by myself and will air in Mar). I'm already "senior" in my company (which is really really small, under 10 people), but is it just junior level in general? And what salary should I expect for a new job? I also design website and do flash banners for my company and I make less than 50k/yr... Feel like underpaid. And because I'm on work visa I can't take freelance/temp jobs... No hourly/daily rate for me: (

I hardly know any other editors, so thanks in advance!

-------------------
Portfolio: http://trailerhythm.com

Return to posts index

Mads Nybo Jørgensen
Re: A/V Editor Salary/Experience level question
on Jan 31, 2015 at 10:49:23 am

Hey Emily,

I'm in London, UK - not LA, just to avoid confusion.

However, the "rules" for employment are pretty much the same where-ever you go in the developed world:

You have an employment contract that states how many hours a week that you should work on a monthly or annual salary. Any hours above that, your employer should in return give you time off, or come to a financial arrangement. Your contract should also have some kind of job description - often with small companies, neither is included.