BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Prepare Work Plan

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Felix LiewhanPrepare Work Plan
by on Nov 28, 2014 at 7:37:24 am

Hello guys, my name is Felix and I'm still a newbie in this film industry. I had been given a duty in concept design to prepare a work plan and I really don't have any idea with this things. Can anyone give a guide on how to make a work plan. The more detail the better for me to understand. Thanx guys.

Return to posts index

Nick GriffinRe: Prepare Work Plan
by on Nov 30, 2014 at 10:46:07 pm

I think how one would define a "work plan" depends on whose asking and how they expect to proceed once they have it. It may also mean different things in different cultures.

If it were me, I'd present it as a budget with tasks lumped together. For example:

Pre-Production & Production (Field Shooting) $X,XXX

Script writing & Shot list, Two shooting days including: Director/Cameraman, Producer, Grip, Jib Arm, Media, Travel time & costs

Post-Production Video $X,XXX
Voice-over fee & recording time, Production music, Transfer & Shot Logging, Non- Linear Editing (Suite & Editor/Director), Off-Line Efx & Titling (Opens/Closes/Titling), Master to Digital Files

Of course these bundled prices all begin in spreadsheet format, but not a spreadsheet that you provide your potential client showing each individual item and its cost.

You should also avoid providing too much detail on specific things because you are providing a virtual road map on the steps they may want to take themselves -- including ALL of the steps. ("And thank you very much for your free consulting time," they virtually never say, even though it's the reality. I've seen this from VERY large corporations as well as small ones.)