BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Career Goals

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
David SikesCareer Goals
by on Sep 30, 2014 at 3:05:33 pm

Hey everyone. I'm in my first position after college. I started in January 2013 and have been here since, doing video production for a company's marketing department.

Something I'm facing when I think about the future is the challenge of what I want my career path to look like. My current title is "Video Producer", and I work as a all-arounder doing corporate production, while freelancing as an AC and video producer on the side. This is essentially the work I want to do, and it's the basically the same job I see several of my peers having at different companies, colleges, etc.

I don't want to become stagnant, and creative work is great because it naturally always pushes me to see how my work could be better in an endless variety of ways, and I'm always working to make better stuff.

But for whatever reason, it's hard for me to wrap my head around the idea of having the same attitude about my career. There's not a clear next rung in the ladder. So it's hard to set career-oriented goals for myself.

The only "next step" I can think of so far is either a) same job, but bigger company or market, or b) to eventually try to specialize in an aspect of production and seek a career in that (ie, editing).

Where I am right now, I'm plenty challenged and it's a great place to grow and learn for now, but I don't want to eventually become too comfortable because I always want to be challenged, I always want to be pushed, and of course (as a somewhat-newly wed), there's financially incentive to move up as we want to start a family.

Anyone else been in this situation? Any advice on what the "next step" can look like, and how to set goals for myself?

Thanks everyone.

Return to posts index