BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Credit Yourself/Watermark videos

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jessica Leano
Credit Yourself/Watermark videos
on Jun 13, 2014 at 4:33:29 pm

Hey friends, new to creative cow here.
A little background: I recently graduated college with a broadcast degree, and am now doing a little freelancing in video production. For those of you who make wedding/music/other videos by trade, how do you credit yourself, and for how long? Is a title card sufficient at the end of the video, or do you put your logo in the corner sporadically?
The video in question is for a local dance company. I'll probably be doing it pro bono, so I'd like to get a bit of press or otherwise have my name visibly on it if it is shared or posted elsewhere.
Gracias!

Return to posts index

Nick Griffin
Re: Credit Yourself/Watermark videos
on Jun 13, 2014 at 5:32:24 pm

We go by the TV model of a "vanity plate" at the end (when allowed by the client). Speaking of which, ever take the time to read any of Chuck Lorre's vanity plates? Some are fall down funny.

I personally think a watermark is serious overkill unless you haven't been paid and are using its presence to indicate that you still own it.

Return to posts index

Todd Terry
on Jun 13, 2014 at 5:38:30 pm

[Nick Griffin] "Ever take the time to read any of Chuck Lorre's vanity plates?"

There are actually several websites dedicated to Chuck's vanity cards, which is needed since they are only on screen for one second.

Personally, I think his show writing is extreeeeemly weak and pandering (I can't for the life of me figure out why anyone would sit through more than three minutes of "Two and a Half Men"... and not much longer for "Big Bang..." but apparently what do I know?)... but some of his vanity cards are, yes, fall-down funny. Very well written.

T2

fantasticplastic.com

Return to posts index