BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Tips for becoming a full time videographer?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Edward CalabigTips for becoming a full time videographer?
by on May 9, 2014 at 3:40:05 am

I've been shooting wedding videos for the past 3 years and I am currently looking into free lancing full time for business and wedding videos.

I have been working a day job as my main source of income financially but wedding videos are now to a point where they are becoming a majority of my income.

I was wondering if anyone has any tips for picking up work aside from wedding videos to become a videographer full time? I have done occasional work for businesses and organizations in the past but the work is sporadic.

I would love to be able to do videography full time and if I could pick up at least 1 video job aside from a wedding once a month, I could definitely make that happen! Lately, I have been offering businesses a free 30 second to 1 minute video by going in person to stores so I can have 4-5 solid business videos before I would like to start charging.

Thanks,
Edward
Lead Videographer/Editor at TSP Video (http://www.tspvideo.com)

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: Tips for becoming a full time videographer?
by on May 9, 2014 at 1:02:26 pm

One consideration if you want to do this is that you'll have to create a separate identity as a corporate/business shooter. No matter how skilled a wedding videographer you are, business people looking to hire someone for a project look down on wedding photography as irrelevant and frivolous. If they do a search for a shooter, they will not look under wedding/events people, but under corporate/marketing/training type keywords.