BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

A reality show with a double purpose

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jenny Wright
A reality show with a double purpose
on May 6, 2014 at 6:09:35 pm

Hello.
I'm new and although I'm a published writer, am very green in the tv industry.

I have a brilliant animal reality show idea, which will not only benefit tv/viewers but also a 3rd world country. (I have registered the idea here in Canada).
Have read some of the past horror stories re; Discovery & National Geographic and Tv Writers Vault. So.. that being said, am wondering if anyone could suggest leads or contacts of where I could send my drafted copy idea.

Much gratitude and thanks for any help,

Jenny Wright
Dinosaur Music.
http://www.dinosaurmusic.net

Return to posts index

Mark Suszko
Re: A reality show with a double purpose
on May 6, 2014 at 8:29:03 pm

Step 1:
Go make a season's worth of your show.

Step 2:
Lock in all the key participants and locations with contracts, so that they can't be a part of any similar show, done by a competitor.

Bring the show to the NATPE convention and sell it.

Step 3: Profit?

I don't know what "registering" your idea means in Canada, but it won't help you here very much. You can't copyright an idea here, only the very specific creative expression of that idea. If someone else wants to make an eco-touirism reality show like yours, you're out of luck.

Return to posts index

Jenny Wright
on May 6, 2014 at 10:28:37 pm

Thank you Mark for your ideas. Are there any other options besides Natpe convention?

Does Writers Guild not protect an idea?
Thanks for any other suggestions....

Return to posts index

Mark Suszko
on May 6, 2014 at 11:49:01 pm

WGA protects a specific script. Not a concept.

NATPE is probably the easiest way to go, for an independent, from what I can tell. All these distributors and buyers, all in one place.