BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Designing/planning a production studio, any advice?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Cassidy HiltonDesigning/planning a production studio, any advice?
by on Mar 27, 2014 at 9:44:32 pm

The company I work for is growing, and is moving to a new building that they're building from scratch. They sell organizational products for home and garage storage and they have constant need of video and photo production. As part of that, they're turning to me for help designing a new studio that fits their needs specifically. I am by no means an expert when it comes to designing a video studio. I've shot in a fair share of video/photo studios--but not extensively--so I'm familiar with basic things we'd need or want, but I'm still looking for some input from those who have gone through this process. I can't find a lot of resources online for this, most posts are geared towards those looking to make a home DIY studio. Not what I'm looking for. This is still in the preliminary stages, so I don't know our exact budget and other details, but I know the higher-ups want a setup that will help us produce more without going overboard (shocking, right?). A studio would help us shoot anything from a simple person-talking-on-a-white-cyc to a how-to-organize-in-a-garage video. We imagine having a basic studio with a white cyc or green screen, a functioning garage studio to simulate a real garage in a controlled environment, and an adjoining equipment room. Again, these are just our thoughts now. I know that audio is a huge part of studio design, if not most of it, and I don't know where to start with planning or researching all that. Also, I don't know what to research or look for in terms of electrical planning and so on.