BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Content Purchase Request

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Mariusz PotyralskiContent Purchase Request
by on Mar 26, 2014 at 6:58:52 pm

Hi guys,

I need your advice. I am new in video production industry. Self learner, passionate freelance photo/videographer with just a few ambitious project so far.
I got this email from film producing company. Currently they work on the airline advertisement and ask to purchase content of my video.
They need some portions of the video, approximately 6sec long all together.
It will be exposed through world-wide corporate web&youtube up to 6months.
On the top of that they intend to pay the permission of usage.

Problem is, I don't know how much should I asked for.

What would you do yourself?

Regards, M.

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: Content Purchase Request
by on Mar 26, 2014 at 8:42:02 pm

Do not over-reach on this: I suggest that as a base, consider what it cost you to get that shot and what it would cost for someone else to reproduce the exact same shot, and price your clip less than that. If the clip truly is unique and impossible to duplicate by another person, you can afford to charge more.

Key issues in the contract for the footage include: the rights should fully revert to you at the end of the agreed period, with the company given an option to renew for another 6 months, at the same pay rate. Once the contract period is over, there should be no restrictions on what you do with the clip.

If this is a commercial, expect a one-time fee for your clip. If this is used in a TV show, look for either a small residual for each showing, or the equivalent of several such showings, calculated into one lump sum payment.