BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Charge for render/encode/upload time?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Ben LithmanCharge for render/encode/upload time?
by on Jan 17, 2014 at 12:38:58 pm

Hi, I work as a freelance cameraman and editor in the UK. I recently took on a job with hours and hours of footage that all needs to be transcoded.

I just wanted to get a feel for what the consensus is on charging the client per day/hour for time spent transcoding/rendering and uploading? Is it ok and correct to do?

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: Charge for render/encode/upload time?
by on Jan 17, 2014 at 3:09:30 pm

If it is tying up your gear so nothing else can be done on it, you had better be charging.

Where we're likely to disagree is on the rate for that service.

For pure rendering, unattended, you could charge less than you would for shooting, or editing, than for being present and entering metadata /logging footage.

Personally, I think if you are present and doing logging on ingest, that's really the first level of raw editing, and I would charge an editing rate for it.

If I can do other productive work while keeping one eye on a render, that's probably a discounted rate. But never free. I generally fold in the time to ingest and log as part of the complete edit quote, adjusting the hourly rate to include and pro-rate it.

Return to posts index

Ben LithmanRe: Charge for render/encode/upload time?
by on Jan 17, 2014 at 3:13:00 pm

Thanks for the advice. So just as a rough guide, and to be consistent with the industry average, would you say about 50% of hourly rate for render & transcode? More/less?

Return to posts index

Todd TerryRe: Charge for render/encode/upload time?
by on Jan 17, 2014 at 4:27:43 pm

I certainly wouldn't charge any less than 50%, that's for sure.