BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Video booth

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Dmitriy DribinskiyVideo booth
by on Nov 7, 2013 at 4:30:58 pm

Hello, I am a wedding videographer and was asked by one of the clients if I can create a video booth to record messages from the guests. Has anyone done this before? How did you build it, software, camera, etc? Any advise would be appreciated! Thanks.

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: Video booth
by on Nov 7, 2013 at 9:44:53 pm

A "booth" wouldn't strictly be necessary except for sound isolation reasons; you could set up in any little corner with lights and a tripod. If you WANT an actual "booth" with more intimacy and sound Isolation, you can buy booths pre-made in kit form from places like Markertek, Full Compass, TecNec Specialties or B&H photo-Video.

Make a lens hole into the booth and poke the camera in from the outside.

If those are too expensive, you could use a "pipe-and-drape" kit to create a 4-sided lightweight pipe frame, and hang sound blankets from the pipes, with some kind of roof made of the same sound blanket, suspended on an x-shaped support grid. Might look a little homely if done DIY...

You will have to light this inside, 2 ways I can think of:

Vertical fluorescent tubes in the two inside corners on the camera side, with some diffusion, will make a soft base light. Or you could do a ring light around the lens.

Another way you could go, is put up a laptop or tablet or flatscreen monitor with webcam on it, and use any of several apps to record people sitting in front of the screen. The risk here is people messing with the rig to check their facebook or whatever... or people stealing/vandalizing the rig when it is unattended. Best to isolate the computer and keyboard/mouse so they only have the screen and webcam to see.