BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Starting up a one-stop-shop

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Neil GowanStarting up a one-stop-shop
by on Nov 6, 2013 at 9:40:45 pm

Hi all. This may be a bit of a deviation from marketing, but it seems to be a good business topic. I've really appreciated lots of the advice and info from previous threads in this forum.
I've been a freelance editor for about 7 years. Started a family right out of college, so I've been content being at home and letting clients find me. As a result, I've not had a large number of clients, but we've been willing to sacrifice large yearly income for the simplicity and convenience (sort of) of that route.
Kids are getting a little older now, and this year has been very dry for editorial jobs. One of my clients (freelance producer) has offered to take me under his wing a bit and I'm going to make the leap to running a one-stop-shop. Hoping to build relationships with agencies from the ground up, and looking forward to the adventure of it all.

Few questions:

1.) Should I take out a loan and buy my own equipment? I'm equipped for post production, but don't own a camera, lights, mics, etc. Or should I rent? I've heard from both camps on this. Maybe rent for a while before deciding on what to buy?

2.) If I buy, what tips would you have specifically regarding camera? The discontinuation of the AF-100 has surprised me...and I don't see other brands following Panasonic's model of the interchangeable 35mm lens concept. Has that ship sailed for some reason? Or is it still the future? Seems like it still may be a good choice for the scope of projects I hope to bring in...

2.) Knowing what you know now, what 3 things would you need to hear if you were in my spot, just starting out?

Thanks all.

Return to posts index

Todd TerryRe: Starting up a one-stop-shop