BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Career paths

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Sam Lanes
Career paths
on Aug 8, 2013 at 11:14:28 am

I often read some of the very experienced people on these forums and am often interested to learn what career paths they have taken to get to where they are today.

I am currently working as a Video Technician (7 years) at a reseller in the UK which has given me a great background in the technical side of many editing packages and a LOT of equipment.

In the short to medium term, I have plans to try and get back into the creative side of the industry and would love to get into the post-production field (particularly as an editor).

I did a degree in Media Production which was very practical but weak on technical and I now feel I am trying to reverse this in terms of my knowledge.

Would anyone else care to share their career paths to this point?

http://www.aefromscratch.com

Return to posts index

Bob Zelin
Re: Career paths
on Aug 8, 2013 at 12:31:49 pm

Sam -
you have 7 years of technical background. You work for a reseller, which means that you already know who the clients are that your reseller sells to. YOU CONTACT THEM. You say "hey, I am leaving Root 6" or whatever dealer you are with, and tell them that you want to work for them. You don't need any degree. They already know you. They probably already like you. You have already done work for them, and they know you are qualified. That is I ASSUME that you know who your bosses clients are, I ASSUME that you have had contact with them, helped them in the past, had friendly conversations with them. You have more of a chance of getting into any of these companies than ANYONE that is going to contact them looking for work.