BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Nightlife Videographer/Filmmaker...Production Rate?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Nick Centore
Nightlife Videographer/Filmmaker...Production Rate?
on Jul 16, 2013 at 6:17:21 am

Hello everyone,

So this is my first post to Creative Cow. I've read the forums as an outsider for awhile and need some help with my current situation.

I'm a recent film graduate and produce a lot of nightlife work for a local venue that hosts famous DJs, producers, etc. Over the course of the past four months since I started we've developed a good business relationship and they have me doing all of the events every weekend. They've actually hired me to work another club in the area under the same ownership as well.

Putting together these little recap videos with a quick turnover rate has begun to take up a lot of my spare time and hindered me from going to my day job. They've recently informed me that they will be doing big things within the next year and want me to document it all. I'm in the process of constructing a general terms of agreement for my service for the next year or so.

As a recent graduate how much would you charge to continue this service? I'm using my own equipment and plan to upgrade. They're currently paying me $150 a video which isn't cutting it for the amount of time I put in to shoot, edit, grade, etc.

It's been a great opportunity to work with them and I don't want to scare them away. I know they pay their graphic designers $30 an hour and mobile app developer $$$$$$ to make their content so I know they have a budget.

Thank you!

- Nick

Return to posts index

Mike Smith
Re: Nightlife Videographer/Filmmaker...Production Rate?
on Jul 16, 2013 at 9:31:38 am