BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Girl suing school district for using Facebook picture

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jason BullockGirl suing school district for using Facebook picture
by on Jun 24, 2013 at 2:33:01 am

I think this is an interesting case. A girl is suing her former school district for $2 million because they used a picture of her from Facebook without her permission in a presentation about what not to do in social media.

I'm not a lawyer but I think it's a good case to show how about copyright and libel. I know that some of us have had to at least one time wrestle with using a picture, music, video clip, etc because of copyright.

What are your thoughts?

http://www.wsbtv.com/news/news/local/bikini-photo-controversy/nYQhy/

Jason Bullock
Owner, Backwards Man Productions
http://www.backwardsmanproductions.com

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: Girl suing school district for using Facebook picture
by on Jun 24, 2013 at 2:12:25 pm

I'm not a lawyer, but... could be the new title of this forum, but my two cents:

Facebook TOS is very proprietary in the sense that they reserve the right to exploit any images you share for themselves and their partners alone, and you agree to that. So if the school got the image by buying it from Facebook, they are fine. If all they did was copy it from the internet off an unsecured site without the girl's permission, they need to hire new lawyers for that district., because she's going to win that suit.