BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

The "20-Something" Perspective

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Patrick ReaganThe "20-Something" Perspective
by on Jun 19, 2013 at 2:17:40 am

I've read many threads in the Business & Marketing pasture.

A recurring theme I am seeing is an apparent disdain for the "20-something with DSLR undercutting the seasoned veteran." The unfortunate thing about it, is while I'm not technically in business and/or undercutting anyone, I AM a 23 year old college student with a DSLR (recently purchased and purchased because of a lack of funds, not taste). A point & shoot camera wasn't cutting it, and a $2500 camcorder was out of the question (would love a Panasonic AG-AC130, for example).

Hearing some of you say things about young kids with lower end cameras makes me wonder if any of you believe there are kids who are honestly passionate about the pre/post/production discipline and process. Of course, I'm not instigating or implying anything with that previous comment.

For me, I get quite a great feeling from doing this sort of work and learning. I love seeing other people's work and wondering what went into it. It would be an amazing experience to just be in the presence of some of you folks: business owners, freelancers, etc. and just shut up and learn.

Is there any room for the 20-something who wants to actually work hard and learn as much as possible instead of being a stupid 18 year old kid who has his mom's PowerShot and an old copy of Windows Movie Maker charging 50 dollars for local music videos?

Return to posts index

Joseph W. BourkeRe: The "20-Something" Perspective
by on Jun 19, 2013 at 3:58:35 am

Patrick -