BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Using my powers for good

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Christopher TravisUsing my powers for good
by on Jun 18, 2013 at 2:42:25 pm

Hello all,

Not entirely sure if this is the board for this but it's my best guess. Feel free to move this if there's a more appropriate home for it.

I am a London-based editor with about 6/7 years broadcast experience in the UK. No terrestrial credits yet, just channels like The Food Network, Travel Channel, Extreme Sports etc.. and a few overseas channels in Europe, Asia, Australia and a few other places I'm sure. I also have a fair bit of camera experience, and as an editor I like to think that I have an understanding of what sort of rushes I should be collecting and I know about shooting for continuity and generally how to tell a story with pictures.

I have been struck in the last 6 months by a powerful desire to go and work abroad for a while and as this thought has matured I've been more drawn to the idea of somehow getting involved in some charity/NGO work. Ideally I want to use my current skill set, so as A) to be able to bring some expertise and hopefully be more useful than just "another pair of hands" and B) to at least keep my eye in and not have a total black hole on my CV if/when I choose to come back.

Does anyone have any experience in making this move? Can anyone offer advice on finding work like this? Do jobs like this (I'd guess you might call it in-house videographer or something) even exist? As you can tell this is motivated more by a desire to work abroad than by any interest in a particular cause/charity so I'm very open minded.

Thanks

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: Using my powers for good
by on Jun 18, 2013 at 3:22:35 pm